top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChala

New Year, New Things!

Updated: Jan 24, 2019


Hi everyone and Happy New Year! First off I want to apologize that I have been MIA for the past couple of months. I was busy preparing from some craft fairs, Christmas and some commissioned work! But, I am now back and am ready to face 2019 with some fresh ideas!


Today's card is for a good friend of mine who recently moved and the Lawn Fawn Happy Village stamp set was perfect for this occasion!


I started off by stamping some of the images onto Neenah Solar White cardstock with Memento Black Tuxedo ink as I wanted to comic colour the images. As I always mention, I am not the best coloured......but, if you want to see some great colouring I always recommend you check out Kelly Latevola! She is fantastic!


Now, back to the card. Once I got the images coloured I die cut them with the coordinating dies and my Big Shotz die cut machine. I am not going to lie....I am kinda saving up for one of those fancy electronic die cut machines.....hoping it will be easier on my hands!


Once the images were cut out, I also used a stitched rectangle die (just a bit smaller than a standard A2 card base) to cut the patterned paper as well as an oval framelit die that the die cut images will sit on.


I attached the pattern paper with some adhesive tape runner onto a piece of light pink cardstock that I thought complimented the colours in the pattern paper. The pink cardstock measured 4 1/4" x 5 1/2". I then adhered the white oval at the upper one third portion of the card and began arranging the images onto the oval. I used Gina K connect glue for the images so that I had some wiggle room when placing them and with the help of my EK Success reverse tweezers I got them placed. I set that aside with an acrylic block on top to allow the glue to set.


I then began to work on the placing the some of the remaining images onto the inside of the card. This is another goal for the year...to make the inside as cute and pretty as the outside. I started with Neenah White Cardstock that was 8 1/2" x 11" and cut it in half so that my card would be a 5 1/2" x 4 1/4" side folding card. I scored the card so that I knew where to place the images without going to far to the left. I adhered that again with the Gina K Connect glue and set it aside to dry.


I then moved on to stamping my sentiment banner that would appear on the front of the card. I chose the "home is where the heart is" sentiment as I thought it went nicely with the little image of the house with the heart on the door. I stamped that sentiment with Versafine Black Onyx ink onto some light blue / robin egg that I thought coordinated again with the pattern paper . I prefer the Versafine ink for detailed stamps and sentiments as I usually get a perfect detailed stamp the first time and don't have to risk double stamping and getting more of a thick line. I cut the sentiment into a banner with my Fiskar paper trimmer and finished the banner ends with my Tim Holtz Scissors.


After applying the foam adhesive squares to the banner I realized that I was a bit ahead of myself. I still needed to finish the inside sentiment and adhere the front panel to the card so that I didn't have to fight with the popped out element of the front sentiment. Unfortunately, the image of the inside would not upload to the blog. :(


Again, using Versafine Black Onyx, I stamped the inside sentiment "congrats on your new home". Then using my tape runner I adhered the front panel to the card base and then applied the sentiment banner to the from of the card just below the white oval.


I also ensured that I used my "p.s. I love you, handmade by Chala" stamp on the back so that the recipient knew that it was made by me.


You can see this card being created on my YouTube channel here:





Thanks again for checking out my tutorial and I will be back again soon! Happy Crafting!


~Chala


Note: I do not receive any compensation for the products I use in this video. I have personally purchased all items and only share what I like.


Materials:


-Lawn Fawn Happy Village stamp and die set purchased from Paper Pastimes http://www.paperpastimes.com/products.htm

-Stamp Perfect platform stamper

-Neenah Solar White 60lb cardstock

-Copic markers

-Recollections cardstock in light pink and light blue

-Recollections At the Park pattern paper 

-Versafine Black Onyx ink

-Elizabeth Craft designs Stitched rectangle dies

-Sizzix Framelits - Ovals

-Gina K Connect glue

-EK success reverse tweezers

-Fiskars paper trimmer


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page