top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChala

Altenew Needlework Motif & My First Colour Throwndown Challenge


Altenew Needlework Motif

This card was inspired by my first Colour Throwdown Challenge ( #ctd512 ) and the Altenew Needlework Motif Stamp set. I have to say I am very pleased with how it came out! Here is the colour inspiration palette.


#ctd512

I started by stamping one of the floral images with Versifine Black Onyx ink onto some Bristol Smooth Cardstock. I stamped the image several times with my stamp platform to ensure that I got all the details in the stamp. I then used some Ranger white detail heat embossing powder and set it with my heat gun.


I pulled out my Zig clean watercolour brushes and was able to lay down the colour quickly and without the fear of running thanks to the heat embossing. The colours I used where cobalt blue, olive green, grey brown, lemon yellow and light green. I then used the teal green to go overtop of the cobalt blue to deepen the colour and match it better with the one in the colour throwdown and used the coordinating die to cut the image out.


I then cut a standard A2 card base leaving a 1" lip on the front. I pulled out some Judikins heat resistant acetate which is 4 1/4" by 5 1/2" inches in size. I treated it with my antistatic powder tool (which only helped a little) and then stamped a sentiment from the Altenew Needlework Motif stamp and die set with some Versamark clear ink and sprinkled Ranger detail white embossing powder overtop. I gave it several good "flicks" to get most of the embossing powder off and between using a paint brush and my Tim Holtz piercing tool and carefully removed the powder from any areas that I did not want it to set to. When you heat emboss on acetate always remember to make sure your heat gun is good and hot before bringing it to your project and continuously move the gun around to avoid warping. I got a tiny bit of warping with my project but I was able to continue with the card without any problems.


I attached the acetate to the 1" lip of my card base using some Scoretape. I played the die cut image down and adhered it with some Gina K connect glue which is a nice strong adhesive that gives you a bit of wiggle room before it dries. I played a heavy tile overtop to help give pressure for it to dry (about 10-15 minutes). Once I was sure it was dry I cut off the excess image that overhung the acetate. I used some dollar store teal sequins and some teal green foil cardstock to adhere a 1/8" strip where the grey cardstock overlapped the acetate to give the edge a cleaner look.


This is where things get a bit tricky. The front of the card is now see through and you will not be able to write an image on the inside without it being seen. So I added some vellum to mute the background. It didn't give me the coverage I wanted as I was still able to see too much through....so, I went ahead and cut a standard A2 card base and adhered that behind the vellum. I needed something to write my message on as it would have been too hard to see on the grey cardstock. I used a 4 1/4' x 4 1/4" white cardstock piece and with the other floral image I stamped that onto the white cardstock using a slate grey die ink from Umbrella Crafts.


Aside from adding some wink of stella clear glitter pen, that finishes off this card. Here is a closer look of the floral image with the Wink of Stella.

Altenew Needlework Motif

You can check out the video tutorial of how this card came together here:




Thanks for joining me and Happy Crafting!


~Chala


Supplies:


Altenew Needlework Motif stamp and die set

https://altenew.com/products/needlework-motif-stamp-die-bundle

Tim Holtz Tonic Glass Media Mathttps://www.scrapbook.com/store/ton-1914e.html

Tim Holtz Water colour brushhttps://www.scrapbook.com/store/pp-th-tip33080.html Gina K connect glue https://www.simonsaysstamp.com/product?id=396614 Navy Blue Grey Cardstock from Michaels

Scoretape https://www.amazon.ca/Scor-Pal-SP214-Scor-Tape-0-375-27-Yard/dp/B00DLS8HLW/ref=sr_1_2?s=kitchen&ie=UTF8&qid=1538536207&sr=1-2&keywords=score+tape

Judikins Embossable Window Plastic Sheets https://www.amazon.ca/Judikins-AP405-Embossable-4-25-Inch-5-5-Inch/dp/B004IXSXTK/ref=sr_1_fkmr0_3?s=kitchen&ie=UTF8&qid=1538536145&sr=1-3-fkmr0&keywords=Judikins+acetate

Foil Cardstock and sequins from local dollarstore

Wink of Stella https://www.amazon.ca/Zig-MS553V-CS-Glitter-Markers-Christmas/dp/B00BFI5B0U/ref=ice_ac_b_dpb?ie=UTF8&qid=1538536066&sr=8-1&keywords=wink+of+stella

Cutter Bee precision scissors https://www.amazon.ca/EK-Success-EKCB01-Precision-Cut-Scissors/dp/B0006842S2/ref=sr_1_1?s=kitchen&ie=UTF8&qid=1538536091&sr=1-1&keywords=cutter+bee



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page