top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChala

Happy Birthday Card - using Distress Oxides and my Silhouette die cutting machine.


Hello friends!


Today's card is a birthday card. I am using Distress Oxide inks in Lucky Clover, Mermaid Lagoon and Squeezed Lemonade. I am doing a simple blend of the three colours on my Tim Holtz Tonic Glass Media Mat (LOVE!).


I use a diamond background die that I picked up from Aliexpress. If you are just getting started or are cheap like me, this is a great place to pick up some inexpensive dies.


I am using a technique that I saw Jennifer McGuire do and it looked like fun.......I had some issues with residue adhesive....but you can watch the video to see that struggle.


I used Avery Removable white full sheet labels and place a 5 1/2" x 4 1/4" piece over top of the die cut image and then applied adhesive to just the pieces I wanted to stick to my card panel.


I gently peeled away the adhesive sheet, making sure that the pieces I wanted glued down were left behind. Again.....this was a struggle...but SO worth it!


I trimmed down the white panel just a smidge and then added the frame back onto the card. I will use the leftover die cut pieces on another card in the future.


I didn't have a metal "happy" die cut, so I pulled out my Silhouette die cutting machine and created one. (I love my Silhouette for it's versatility and ability to create my own cut files). If you are not familiar with Silhouette, check out their site here. http://www.silhouetteamerica.com


I cut several of the "happy" sentiments from black cardstock and glued them together to add dimension and interest to my card. I also heat embossed a white "Birthday" sentient with some white Ranger Snow embossing powder onto black cardstock and adhered that underneath the "happy" die cut. To finish off the card I added some sequins to the background and applied a layer of Wink of Stella clear shimmer pen overtop of the "happy" sentiment to add a bit more sparkle.


I hope you enjoyed today's quick Happy Birthday Card! You can watch how this card came together here: https://youtu.be/kC88C8HG_Y0




Have a fantastic day!


~ Chala


Supplies:


- Ranger Distress Oxide Inks in Lucky Clover, Mermaid Lagoon and Squeezed Lemonaid from Scrapnstamp.ca

- Diamond Background Die cut from Aliexpress.com

- Tim Holtz Tonic Glass Media Mat from Scrapnstamp.ca

- Avery Removable White Full Sheet Labels from Staples

- Jewel Picker from Amazon.ca

- Tombow Mono Glue from Michaels

- Fiskars precision trimmer from Michaels

- White and black card stock from Michaels

- Silhouette die cut machine from silhouetteamerica.com

- Ranger Distress Medium adhesive from Michaels

- Wink of Stella, clear from Michaels

- Sequins from my local dollar store



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page